Contact Us

Giraffe ACT and SAT Courses

Since high school education in BC is recognized while many students receive offers from top universities in the US, there is a significant number of BC students who are willing to pursue their post secondary education there. In order to achieve this target, taking ACT and/or SAT exams is necessary. Even though our education system and curriculum in BC share many similarities with those in the US, there are still many differences such as Geometry in Math and English Rhetorics. In response to this scenario, Giraffe Learning Centre offers the following courses.

GIRAFFE teaches essential knowledge points, learning skills, and exam strategies

Award-Winning Instructors + Key Points + Past Exams + GIRAFFE Exercises = Outstanding Results

Why Giraffe?

  1. We have Award Winning Instructors teaching these ACT and SAT courses.
  2. We offer small classes, with a maximum number of 4 students per class. If you prefer private sessions, please contact us for details.
  3. Students participating in our ACT and SAT courses can attend a one-month seminar style review session prior to their examination date. For this particular month, they can drop in anytime during our hours of operation for academic support of their corresponding courses. 
  4. For each course, we offer students at least 5 mock examination sets and at least 6 past examination sets with academic support when necessary.
  5. We will arrange at least 2 mock tests, each with the same setup as real exams, for our students. We will assess their mock test results and offer suggestions on exam strategies.

The Giraffe Learning Method

Our Giraffe Learning Method combines active reading, active teaching, and in-class training. 

Active reading – At the beginning of each lesson, our instructors specify the target learning outcomes of that class. Students will actively read through course handouts according to our instructions. They will also try to answer questions related to corresponding learning outcomes.

Active teaching – During the active reading stage, our instructors observe the progress of  students in order to find their personal weakness and problems in their understanding. We will guide students through these difficulties so that they can achieve their learning outcomes.

In-class training – We will provide in-class exercises for students to practice with the new knowledge learned at each class. We will help them with their independent thinking and will provide them strategies on personal improvements.

 

Do I need to take both exams?

In theory, students only need to participate in one of these two exams. However, the recent trend demonstrates that more students are taking both exams. Even though ACT and SAT exams seem to be interchangeable, their contents covered, level of difficulties, and scoring guide are far from similar.

While the ACT test combines English, Math, Reading, Science, and the optional Composition, the SAT exam does not have a test component in the field of Science. Meanwhile, ACT’s Math section covers more knowledge components than the SAT’s. However, the question types in the SAT exam tend to be trickier and more complicated than those belonging to ACT. Consequently, it remains inconclusive about which one is more difficult.

In addition, these two exams have very different scoring guidelines. In recent years, the SAT exam introduces a fair scoring system, which contains a component related to students’ ethnicity. Such a system creates an extra barrier for students with Chinese ethnicity to achieve outstanding performance in the SAT test, resulting in many of them switching to the ACT. However, as discussed earlier, although the ACT test does not have a scoring guideline related to ethnicity, it requires students to have more detailed knowledge and imposes a more strict time limit during the exam.

So, which one should students choose? This question varies from one to another, depending on his or her personal strength. Giraffe Learning offers services on Secondary School Planning and University Admission Counselling. We will answer these questions only to those students who are currently in the counselling programs. 

 

When should I take the exam?

Giraffe Learning offers services on Secondary School Planning and University Admission Counselling. We will answer these questions only to those students who are currently in the counselling programs.

Giraffe ACT and SAT Courses

Since high school education in BC is recognized while many students receive offers from top universities in the US, there is a significant number of BC students who are willing to pursue their post secondary education there. In order to achieve this target, taking ACT and/or SAT exams is necessary. Even though our education system and curriculum in BC share many similarities with those in the US, there are still many differences such as Geometry in Math and English Rhetorics. In response to this scenario, Giraffe Learning Centre offers the following courses.

GIRAFFE teaches essential knowledge points, learning skills, and exam strategies

Award-Winning Instructors + Key Points + Past Exams + GIRAFFE Exercises = Outstanding Results

Why Giraffe?

  1. We have Award Winning Instructors teaching these ACT and SAT courses.
  2. We offer small classes, with a maximum number of 4 students per class. If you prefer private sessions, please contact us for details.
  3. Students participating in our ACT and SAT courses can attend a one-month seminar style review session prior to their examination date. For this particular month, they can drop in anytime during our hours of operation for academic support of their corresponding courses. 
  4. For each course, we offer students at least 5 mock examination sets and at least 6 past examination sets with academic support when necessary.
  5. We will arrange at least 2 mock tests, each with the same setup as real exams, for our students. We will assess their mock test results and offer suggestions on exam strategies.

The Giraffe Learning Method

Our Giraffe Learning Method combines active reading, active teaching, and in-class training. 

Active reading – At the beginning of each lesson, our instructors specify the target learning outcomes of that class. Students will actively read through course handouts according to our instructions. They will also try to answer questions related to corresponding learning outcomes.

Active teaching – During the active reading stage, our instructors observe the progress of  students in order to find their personal weakness and problems in their understanding. We will guide students through these difficulties so that they can achieve their learning outcomes.

In-class training – We will provide in-class exercises for students to practice with the new knowledge learned at each class. We will help them with their independent thinking and will provide them strategies on personal improvements.

 

Do I need to take both exams?

In theory, students only need to participate in one of these two exams. However, the recent trend demonstrates that more students are taking both exams. Even though ACT and SAT exams seem to be interchangeable, their contents covered, level of difficulties, and scoring guide are far from similar.

While the ACT test combines English, Math, Reading, Science, and the optional Composition, the SAT exam does not have a test component in the field of Science. Meanwhile, ACT’s Math section covers more knowledge components than the SAT’s. However, the question types in the SAT exam tend to be trickier and more complicated than those belonging to ACT. Consequently, it remains inconclusive about which one is more difficult.

In addition, these two exams have very different scoring guidelines. In recent years, the SAT exam introduces a fair scoring system, which contains a component related to students’ ethnicity. Such a system creates an extra barrier for students with Chinese ethnicity to achieve outstanding performance in the SAT test, resulting in many of them switching to the ACT. However, as discussed earlier, although the ACT test does not have a scoring guideline related to ethnicity, it requires students to have more detailed knowledge and imposes a more strict time limit during the exam.

So, which one should students choose? This question varies from one to another, depending on his or her personal strength. Giraffe Learning offers services on Secondary School Planning and University Admission Counselling. We will answer these questions only to those students who are currently in the counselling programs. 

 

When should I take the exam?

Giraffe Learning offers services on Secondary School Planning and University Admission Counselling. We will answer these questions only to those students who are currently in the counselling programs.

Contact Us

联系我们

长颈鹿ACT/SAT课程

由于加拿大的高中学历受美国认可,而且BC本地每年也有不少学生收到来自藤校与名校的offer,我们不少本地学生都有前往美国就读大学的意愿。因此,ACT、SAT也成为了他们必须参加的考试。虽然我们BC省的学制与美国相仿,但是具体到学习的内容与学业的侧重点,美国与加拿大还是有很多不同之处。根据这种情况,我们长颈鹿精英教育推出了以下课程

金牌名师 + 精选知识点 + 独家真题 + 针对练习 = 好成绩

长颈鹿ACT/SAT特色:

  1. 资深金牌名师 
  2. 小班制,最多1对4。若有1对1课程的需求,请私信咨询。
  3. 参加长颈鹿学生可以在考试前1个月进行无限次、随时drop-in的练习辅导。
  4. 长颈鹿精英教育将至少为学生提供6套历年SAT真题、至少5套模拟练习题,并为学生提供答疑讲解。
  5. 长颈鹿精英教育将为学生提供至少2次模拟考试,为学生做评估并答疑。

 

长颈鹿学习模式

长颈鹿ACT与SAT课程均采用“先学后教,当堂训练”的教学模式

先学 – 学生按照老师所揭示的目标和要求,自己学习教材内容并尝试回答有关的问题。

后教 – 教师针对学生在自学过程中暴露出来的问题进行适当的整理,评价并进行必要的补充。

当堂训练 – 老师给学生留出一定的时间,让他们在课堂上独立完成本节课的作业。

 

我需要两个都考吗?

原则上说,ACT和SAT只需要考一个就可以,但是目前的趋势显示,有越来越多的学生同时参加了这两个考试。ACT与SAT虽然看似可以相互替代,但是,这两门考试在涉及内容、数学难度、评分标准等都不太相同。

ACT的考试包含了英语、数学、阅读、科学、以及optional的写作,而SAT则没有科学这一项考点。同时,ACT涵盖的数学考点范围比SAT更广、考得更难、考得更深入。但是,SAT的题目更加tricky,没有ACT的问题那么直接。所以说,这两个考试各有自身的难点,不好说哪一个考试更加容易。

ACT与SAT的评分标准也不相同。近年来,SAT已经加入了族裔评分系统,SAT的评分对于华裔的学生已经变得十分苛刻,拿到高分不如从前那么容易。这也是不少学生该考ACT的原因。不过,正如前文所述,ACT虽然没有族裔评分系统,但是考点更多,时间更紧。

那么,学生究竟参加哪个考试呢?这个问题因人而异,长颈鹿精英教育提供学业规划与大学申请服务,对于参加这项服务的学生,我们会予以全面规划与解答。

 

我该什么时候参加考试呢?

长颈鹿精英教育提供学业规划与大学申请服务,对于参加这项服务的学生,我们会予以全面规划与解答。

长颈鹿ACT/SAT课程

由于加拿大的高中学历受美国认可,而且BC本地每年也有不少学生收到来自藤校与名校的offer,我们不少本地学生都有前往美国就读大学的意愿。因此,ACT、SAT也成为了他们必须参加的考试。虽然我们BC省的学制与美国相仿,但是具体到学习的内容与学业的侧重点,美国与加拿大还是有很多不同之处。根据这种情况,我们长颈鹿精英教育推出了以下课程

金牌名师 + 精选知识点 + 独家真题 + 针对练习 = 好成绩

长颈鹿ACT/SAT特色:

  1. 资深金牌名师 
  2. 小班制,最多1对4。若有1对1课程的需求,请私信咨询。
  3. 参加长颈鹿学生可以在考试前1个月进行无限次、随时drop-in的练习辅导。
  4. 长颈鹿精英教育将至少为学生提供6套历年SAT真题、至少5套模拟练习题,并为学生提供答疑讲解。
  5. 长颈鹿精英教育将为学生提供至少2次模拟考试,为学生做评估并答疑。

 

长颈鹿学习模式

长颈鹿ACT与SAT课程均采用“先学后教,当堂训练”的教学模式

先学 – 学生按照老师所揭示的目标和要求,自己学习教材内容并尝试回答有关的问题。

后教 – 教师针对学生在自学过程中暴露出来的问题进行适当的整理,评价并进行必要的补充。

当堂训练 – 老师给学生留出一定的时间,让他们在课堂上独立完成本节课的作业。

 

我需要两个都考吗?

原则上说,ACT和SAT只需要考一个就可以,但是目前的趋势显示,有越来越多的学生同时参加了这两个考试。ACT与SAT虽然看似可以相互替代,但是,这两门考试在涉及内容、数学难度、评分标准等都不太相同。

ACT的考试包含了英语、数学、阅读、科学、以及optional的写作,而SAT则没有科学这一项考点。同时,ACT涵盖的数学考点范围比SAT更广、考得更难、考得更深入。但是,SAT的题目更加tricky,没有ACT的问题那么直接。所以说,这两个考试各有自身的难点,不好说哪一个考试更加容易。

ACT与SAT的评分标准也不相同。近年来,SAT已经加入了族裔评分系统,SAT的评分对于华裔的学生已经变得十分苛刻,拿到高分不如从前那么容易。这也是不少学生该考ACT的原因。不过,正如前文所述,ACT虽然没有族裔评分系统,但是考点更多,时间更紧。

那么,学生究竟参加哪个考试呢?这个问题因人而异,长颈鹿精英教育提供学业规划与大学申请服务,对于参加这项服务的学生,我们会予以全面规划与解答。

 

我该什么时候参加考试呢?

长颈鹿精英教育提供学业规划与大学申请服务,对于参加这项服务的学生,我们会予以全面规划与解答。

联系我们